+-

+-User

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 

Login with your social network

Forgot your password?

+-Stats ezBlock

Members
Total Members: 843
Latest: siva chan
New This Month: 4
New This Week: 4
New Today: 2
Stats
Total Posts: 66811
Total Topics: 4995
Most Online Today: 128
Most Online Ever: 17046
(Mon 29 Mar 2021 19:08)
Users Online
Members: 6
Guests: 40
Total: 46

Author Topic: S ALLISON: NEWPORT V BRADFORD (HANDBALL INCIDENT)  (Read 1321 times)

0 Members and 0 Guests are viewing this topic.

Adam

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 322
    • View Profile
S ALLISON: NEWPORT V BRADFORD (HANDBALL INCIDENT)
« on: Sat 11 Mar 2023 23:29 »
Never seen anything like this before, goalkeeper handles the ball outside the penalty area, having mistaken a rugby 22m line marking on the pitch as the edge of the box.

I know the sticklers for the rules won't like it but fair play to Sam for only giving a yellow in an understandable situation.

Also this is where the line needs to be drawn on multi purpose pitches. People need to put the game first over money and profit.  😅🤣😂.

https://streamin.me/v/d655bc79

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter


Arbitre anglais

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
    • View Profile
Common sense but also the correct decision anyway. Wouldnít be DOGSO as attacker was never getting on to the ball anyway. YC totally correct.
Agree Agree x 1 Disagree Disagree x 1 View List

Rosstheref

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
This is one that football fans don't seen to understand, thinking that a GK handling outside the area is an automatic red card.
This is not a DOGSO. Attacker is nowhere near the ball.
Agree Agree x 1 View List

nemesis

  • RTR Veterans
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,125
    • View Profile
Common sense but also the correct decision anyway. Wouldnít be DOGSO as attacker was never getting on to the ball anyway. YC totally correct.

If it wasn't DOGSO (and I agree it wasn't) what is the "totally correct" yellow card for ?  Hardly preventing a promising attack.
Like Like x 1 View List

RCG

  • RTR Veterans
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,879
    • View Profile
Indeed, more about perception than accuracy

Maybe "idiocy" or "losing ones bearings" fall under unsporting behaviour
Dislike Dislike x 1 View List

nemesis

  • RTR Veterans
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,125
    • View Profile
Indeed, more about perception than accuracy

Maybe "idiocy" or "losing ones bearings" fall under unsporting behaviour

No. Nor does being confused by extraneous line on pitch.
Agree Agree x 2 View List

Ref Watcher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
    • View Profile
Common sense but also the correct decision anyway. Wouldnít be DOGSO as attacker was never getting on to the ball anyway. YC totally correct.

If it wasn't DOGSO (and I agree it wasn't) what is the "totally correct" yellow card for ?  Hardly preventing a promising attack.
This is either a red card or no card.  I also agree that it wasn't DOGSO.  A yellow card is not supportable in Law (although trying selling that to the attacking team at the time!).
Agree Agree x 2 View List

RCG

  • RTR Veterans
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,879
    • View Profile
My point exactly, doesnt make it right
Agree Agree x 1 View List

Seagull

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 428
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Maidstone
    • View Profile
  • Referee Level: Retired 1998 (old Class 2)
Chris Foy's take on the incident below. He feels a caution is correct but doesn't categorise it. (Source: Sky Sports website).

"As has been spoken about over the weekend, there is a potential red card offence for a denial of a goal scoring opportunity (DOGSO), however I don't believe this warrants a dismissal. When the goalkeeper catches the ball, the nearest player is a defender. The positioning of the attacking player is key to the decision, as well as the likelihood of the attacker gaining control of the ball at the moment of the handball offence. The attacking player was not denied an obvious goal scoring opportunity, and I think the correct call on balance is a yellow card."

Ref Watcher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
    • View Profile
Chris Foy's take on the incident below. He feels a caution is correct but doesn't categorise it. (Source: Sky Sports website).

"As has been spoken about over the weekend, there is a potential red card offence for a denial of a goal scoring opportunity (DOGSO), however I don't believe this warrants a dismissal. When the goalkeeper catches the ball, the nearest player is a defender. The positioning of the attacking player is key to the decision, as well as the likelihood of the attacker gaining control of the ball at the moment of the handball offence. The attacking player was not denied an obvious goal scoring opportunity, and I think the correct call on balance is a yellow card."
Chapter and verse on why it's not a red card but nothing on why he thinks it should be a yellow.

For clarity, there are three occasions when handball is a yellow card offence.  They are:

Stopping a promising attack
Attempting to score a goal (whether or not the attempt is successful)
Unsuccessfully attempting to prevent a goal

None of these apply in this case (although I appreciate that some long-suffering Newport County fans might consider this to be a promising attack  :)).
Like Like x 1 Agree Agree x 1 Funny Funny x 1 View List

Wollongong Ref

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
May I add another thought that is from left field. The referee showed the GK the yellow card twice! Remembering referees have previously been sanctioned for this.
Please discuss........
« Last Edit: Thu 16 Mar 2023 03:53 by Wollongong Ref »
Informative Informative x 1 View List

Arbitre anglais

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
    • View Profile
MAy I add another thought that is from left field. The referee showed the GK the yellow card twice! Remembering referees have previously been sanctioned for this.
Please discuss........

Watched again - I think heís reached for the card straight away, then used that same hand to call the GK over (so you see a flash of card). Youíre right though, others have been punished before, although never understand why the authorities get so concerned over such things, unless it actually causes confusion on the day.

The YC reason is interesting, as people have said. I feel itís one of those that (probably wrongly) you have to give a YC if not a red, in order to Ďsellí the decision.

On the whole game system, you canít actually log a YC as stopping a promising attack (even though itís in the laws) but ironically you can just put HB for handball!
Informative Informative x 1 View List

nemesis

  • RTR Veterans
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,125
    • View Profile
Chris Foy's take on the incident below. He feels a caution is correct but doesn't categorise it. (Source: Sky Sports website).

"As has been spoken about over the weekend, there is a potential red card offence for a denial of a goal scoring opportunity (DOGSO), however I don't believe this warrants a dismissal. When the goalkeeper catches the ball, the nearest player is a defender. The positioning of the attacking player is key to the decision, as well as the likelihood of the attacker gaining control of the ball at the moment of the handball offence. The attacking player was not denied an obvious goal scoring opportunity, and I think the correct call on balance is a yellow card."

Why people even both to read, let along regurgitate, the words of these officials of yesteryear is beyond me.

He can't even get the basics right with his support for a sanction that clearly has no justification from within the Laws or the guidance.

The suggestion elsewhere that a player should receive an undeserved card merely to help a referee sell a correct decision of no red card is totally unacceptable.
Dislike Dislike x 1 Agree Agree x 2 View List

nemesis

  • RTR Veterans
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,125
    • View Profile
MAy I add another thought that is from left field. The referee showed the GK the yellow card twice! Remembering referees have previously been sanctioned for this.
Please discuss........

Watched again - I think heís reached for the card straight away, then used that same hand to call the GK over (so you see a flash of card). Youíre right though, others have been punished before, although never understand why the authorities get so concerned over such things, unless it actually causes confusion on the day.

...

I think he does actually show the card twice. Firstly to prevent any incitement from the opposition for a red and corresponding counter confrontations from his team and secondly at the end of his formal cautioning process. So what?
Like Like x 2 View List

Wollongong Ref

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Nemisis I agree so what, but Matt Messias might disagree.....
Like Like x 1 View List