Author Topic: A question of law...  (Read 562 times)

0 Members and 0 Guests are viewing this topic.

Rosstheref

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
A question of law...
« on: Mon 19 Sep 2022 14:57 »
If the referee stops the game (ball still in play) to caution a team official who shows dissent towards a match official...how do you restart play?

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter


RCG

  • RTR Veterans
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,551
    • View Profile
Re: A question of law...
« Reply #1 on: Mon 19 Sep 2022 15:25 »
Used to be a dropped ball but I think its now an IDFK where the ball was?

Seagull

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 258
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Maidstone
    • View Profile
  • Referee Level: Retired 1998 (old Class 2)
Re: A question of law...
« Reply #2 on: Mon 19 Sep 2022 15:37 »
If the referee stops the game (ball still in play) to caution a team official who shows dissent towards a match official...how do you restart play?

I'd wait until the ball next goes out of play or play is stopped for another reason (e.g. free kick), pause the game, caution him/her and restart accordingly. May be not 100% correct but a means to an end.

Rosstheref

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: A question of law...
« Reply #3 on: Mon 19 Sep 2022 16:22 »
See this is what I thought however when reading the LOTG I thought that it's possibly a IDFK from the touchline where the offence took place?

TheThingFromLewes

  • RTR Veterans
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2,954
    • View Profile
Re: A question of law...
« Reply #4 on: Mon 19 Sep 2022 16:27 »
See this is what I thought however when reading the LOTG I thought that it's possibly a IDFK from the touchline where the offence took place?

Steve Evans or Colin would be a good person to askÖ.
Funny Funny x 2 View List

Seagull

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 258
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Maidstone
    • View Profile
  • Referee Level: Retired 1998 (old Class 2)
Re: A question of law...
« Reply #5 on: Mon 19 Sep 2022 16:47 »
See this is what I thought however when reading the LOTG I thought that it's possibly a IDFK from the touchline where the offence took place?

Law 12.4 seems to be the nearest to deal with the situation you cite, although it only refers to officials OUTSIDE the field of play.

"If, when the ball is in play..............a substitute, substituted or sent-off player, or team official commits an offence against, or interferes with, an opposing player or a match official outside the field of play, play is restarted with a free kick on the boundary line nearest to where the offence/interference occurred; for direct free kick offences, a penalty kick is awarded if this is within the offenderís penalty area."

Alternatively, as I suggested earlier, I'd wait until the ball next goes out of play or play is stopped for another reason, deal with it and restart accordingly.
« Last Edit: Mon 19 Sep 2022 17:10 by Seagull »

Affy_Moose

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
  • Scottish Match Official
    • View Profile
Re: A question of law...
« Reply #6 on: Mon 19 Sep 2022 18:32 »
See this is what I thought however when reading the LOTG I thought that it's possibly a IDFK from the touchline where the offence took place?

Dissent offences restart with IFK from the point of occurrence, so in that instance the touch line.

As others have said, if you have the opportunity to allow the game to come to a Ďnaturalí stoppage, then it is often preferable so long as the offended team isnít being effectively penalised by the delay.

Edit: if Iím correct in asserting more widely, dropped ball restarts are really only now for injury, referee struck with ball, offences against outside agents, and a match stopped incorrectly (I.e an adjusted restart for an incorrectly awarded foul). All offences by players/officials/match officials against one another have to be either DFK or IFK (depending on nature of offence).
« Last Edit: Mon 19 Sep 2022 18:38 by Affy_Moose »
Like Like x 1 Informative Informative x 1 View List

JCFC

  • RTR Veterans
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,493
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Brighouse
    • View Profile
Re: A question of law...
« Reply #7 on: Mon 19 Sep 2022 18:48 »
All offences by players/officials/match officials against one another have to be either DFK or IFK (depending on nature of offence).

So, if an overruled assistant were to try to insert his flag into the referee's fundament, which side gets the free-kick?
Funny Funny x 3 View List

Leggy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 474
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: East Grinstead
    • View Profile
  • Referee Level: Long Retired Level 3
Re: A question of law...
« Reply #8 on: Mon 19 Sep 2022 18:54 »
All offences by players/officials/match officials against one another have to be either DFK or IFK (depending on nature of offence).

So, if an overruled assistant were to try to insert his flag into the referee's fundament, which side gets the free-kick?


That is fundamentally a daft question, unless the assistant was a club assistant referee - in which case it would be to the other competing club.  (But if I were the referee they would have to catch me first!)
Like Like x 1 View List